Facebook Faux Pas

Standard

Recently I’ve posted a few things on facebook that might require a bit of explanation.

After leaving church tonight, I couldn’t get my computer up fast enough to post this disclaimer.  I feel the need to clarify because I want everyone to know where I’m coming from.  After you read this, feel free to judge.

In an ideal world, everyone would love and serve the Lord.  Everyone would love like Christ.  There would be no murder.  There would be no abortion.  There would be no poverty.  There would be no sin.  But that’s not this world.  That’s called Heaven.

Last night, I posted that I had a biblical view of abortion but agreed with Separation of Church and State.  The Bible tell us that TRUTH and EVIL cannot mix.  I agree.  My views are my own and I am not trying to push them on anyone else.  I am Pro-Life.  I CHOOSE to be Pro-Life.  I believe that a life starts at conception and to take that life is murder.  Murder is an illegal crime.  It has nothing to do with my relationship with my Savior.  I believe that all sin is equal and all sin is forgivable.  I serve a Lord whose grace is abundant.  With all of that said, I don’t think that religion has a place in politics.  Calm down, calm down.  Here’s why:

First of all, I believe it is our duty as Christians to spread the gospel, not the role of our government.  I think FORCING my religious beliefs on the entire country will turn off unbelievers that might have been saved in an other way.  Does my acceptance of Separation of Church and State make me a luke warm Christian?  Does it make me the awful TOLERANT, open-minded, new-age Christian?  Not in my mind.  I guess you will form that opinion on your own.

I believe that our country needs to base its policies on the Constitution, not the Bible.  Let’s not forget that the Lord gives us free will and allows us to choose salvation.  People came to this country for religious freedom.  As Christians, we should pray for our leaders and our fellow citizens.  We should pray that they are all convicted enough to make the right decisions in their personal lives.

I wanted to clarify my stance for a number of reasons, but the most important was to make sure that my comments did not hurt my witness.

I am a Christian.  I am Pro-Life.  I support the Separation of Church and State.  I know that I might be an odd-ball, but I am who I am.  I might change- its happened before- but for now, this is where I stand.

One response »

Leave a Reply

