Where has the summer (and my MIND) gone?

Standard

As we wrap up another summer, I’m baffled at where the time went…

We lost Red’s father, Mike, in May.  Finding out Mike had cancer in mid April came like a punch in the gut.  It took him fast and broke our hearts.  We were fortunate enough to be able to spend some time with him before he passed and I will always cherish those memories.

Once the “Big Kids” finished school, Red picked them up for the summer.  I know that it meant a lot to Red to have all his babies loving on him while he was mourning the loss of his own Dad.  Watching my husband with his children will always be one of the things that warms my heart.

I had big plans for this summer.  Trips planned, art projects, cooking “experiments”… We did none of it.  Partly because we were lazy by the pool every day and partly because the transmission in our “Family Car” went out… leaving us poor and without a vehicle for almost a month!  Regardless of our lack of activity, we enjoyed the summer and our time together.

Skye got to spend some time with my cousin, Jill.  They’re two peas in a pod.  Staying up late, watching movies and doing crafty things.  It was nice to see the girls hit it off.  I know its hard being away from friends all summer and I often wish we had kids in our area for Skye, Kyle, and Justin to hang with.

Kyle and Justin got a new room this summer.  We converted the screened-in porch off of our dining room into the boy’s new room.  Electric green paint and black accessories.  Complete with a fooseball table.  The boys were beside themselves!  Finally a space to call their own.  Their appreciation and love of the room was worth every penny!

Liam loves having the older kids here.  I love to hear him introduce his “brothers and sister.”  He’s so proud of them!  Liam spent most of his summer under water.  What a swimmer he is!  Flips and jumps and dives and twirls and spins and floats!  He’s pretty impressive.

Charleigh was not going to be shown up by her big brother, though.  She quickly ditched the swimmies and went head first (literally) into swimming.  She’s our very own “Little Mermaid.”  She continues to impress us with her abilities in the pool.

So here we are, in the second week in August, and we’re getting everything ready for the kids to go back to school.  How did we get here so quickly?  I cannot believe that my baby is in school this year.  What will I do with myself?  Oh yeah- work!  I took a job working for Boppy.  So far, I’m loving it.  I love having something “grown up” to do.  I love having a little money of my OWN.  At times it is crazy working from home… kids screaming… husband hungry… dog barking, but overall- we’re all making it work.  Red has been a huge help with the kids- taking them out for a treat, to PlayZone, or to the park if I need some quiet time for a meeting or phone call.  Once the kids are in school, and I have all day to devote to work, I’m sure I’ll be missing the chaos and excuse for a break!

We are enjoying our last week before we’re back to the grind of school weeks… and just in time for Charleigh’s 3rd birthday! But,  I’ll save that for another post… ALL ABOUT HER!

In addition to the boys’ new bedroom, we also gutted our bathroom and renovated this summer.  What a nice improvement!

Leave a Reply

